Birth Defects Resources

Learning about your child's special
health care needs can help you be
sure they are getting the right
care and interventions.

Visit these websites for
comprehensive information on
different types of birth defects,
healthy outcomes for mothers

and babies, and support programs
in your area.

The Centers for Disease Control
and Prevention
cdc.gov/ncbddd/birthdefects
The March of Dimes
marchofdimes.org
The Partnership for Maternal &
Child Health of Northern New
Jersey

partnershipmch.org

Central Jersey Family Health
Consortium

cjfhc.org

Southern New Jersey Perinatal
Cooperative

snjpc.org

For More Information

New Jersey
Department of Health
Birth Defects Registry

Contact us with questions about
your child's registration.
609-292-5676
nj.gov/health/fhs/bdr

Early Intervention Services
Available for infants and toddlers
under 3 years old with
developmental delays and
disabilities.

Contact the New Jersey Early
Intervention System.
888-653-4463
nj.gov/health/fhs/eis

Case Management Services
Available for children birth up to
22 years old with special health
care needs and chronic medical
conditions.

Contact the Special Child Health
Services Case Management Unit
for the case management unit in
your county of residence.
609-777-7778
nj.gov/health/fhs/specialneeds/
case-management
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Introduction

Learning that your child has been
diagnosed with a birth defect is an
emotional time for families. While
you are celebrating your new baby,
it is normal to feel various emotions
and uncertainty about what to do
next. Depending on the type of
birth defect, your baby may need
specialized care and services as
they grow and develop.

The New Jersey Birth Defects
Registry, also called the New Jersey
Special Child Health Services
Registry, is one way to ensure your
child is referred to services as soon
as possible.

What are birth defects?

The term birth defect refersto a
variety of conditions which are
present at birth. They affect
different parts of the body, such as
the limbs, heart or spine.
Chromosomal disorders and
hearing loss at birth are also
considered birth defects. Signs and
symptoms can range from mild to

severe.

Birth defects are common.
According to the Centers for
Disease Control and Prevention
(CDC), every year, one in 33 babies
is born with a birth defect in the
United States.

Why have a Birth
Defects Registry?

In addition to linking families to
services, the Registry also helps us
understand how common
different types of birth defects are
in New Jersey.

New Jersey state law requires birth
facilities and other health care
professionals to register any New
Jersey child up to age 6 who'is
diagnosed with a birth defect.

What causes birth
defects?

Some birth defects have known
causes, such as drinking alcohol or
taking certain medications during
pregnancy, but for most the cause

is unknown.

Not all birth defects can be
prevented, but there are things
you can do to decrease the
chances of your baby having a
birth defect.

Scan the QR code below to
download tips on having a healthy
pregnancy.

What happens after my
child is registered?

You will receive a letter informing
you that your child has been
registered with the Special Child
Health Services Registry, and that
someone in your county's Case
Management Unit will contact
you to offer information and
support. The Registry and Case
Management are confidential. To
ensure your family's privacy is
protected, no specific information
about your child's diagnosis is
included in the letter.

What services are
available for my child?

We refer registered children to
New Jersey Department of
Health's Special Child Health
Services (SCHS) Case
Management Unit. A case
manager from your home county
can assist you with finding
resources and services specific to
your child's needs.
Scan the QR code below to view a
brochure about Case
Management services.
Participation is voluntary and
available until age 22.






